Tags

,

Assault on a Strider Base was originally intended to be a pack of four levels, each created by a different author. I don’t know what happened to it but I can only find two of the levels. Despite them being separate files I’m going to post them both in one review. Here we go.

 

Rosa – Sewer
This level is average. There’s too many headcrabs and shotgunners. It’s also a bit confusing at times. There are positives though, mainly that it’s kind of nonlinear and looks very nice visually. It is a bit too dark at times which is kind of annoying but not horrible. It’s an alright canal level. I’m not sure if I can recommend it, if you don’t have anything else to play then play it but don’t expect too much.
Level 2
I actually really liked this one. It’s a Water Hazard style level and it has a lot going for it. The environment, the visuals, the combat and the fun. There’s a few issues such as the ooze hurting me even while I was in the airboat but overall this level was REALLY fun. There’s even two APCs, a gunship and a Hunter-Chopper! Don’t worry, it gives you the rockets to handle them all. The architecture is also really cool, especially that cave part. This is a map I certainly recommend!

 

I wish this was finished but what we have of it is certainly enjoyable.

