Tags

, ,

This is a really good (mostly) puzzle map. There’s a few Combine Soldiers and Manhacks to fight, mostly in the outside portion of the level at the start. That part is pretty nice visually but there’s some pointless buildings since you can never open them. They just sit there doing nothing. Other than this area, the environment actually reminds me quite a bit of Black Mesa from HL1. It’s very interesting and fun to navigate. The puzzles are mostly finding things. They’re hidden well and fun to find but they’re not as good as, say, The Sprucecape Mappack. There’s also a part where you have to step on small blocks across a pit of toxic waste that appear and disappear. It’s kind of like Mega Man without the platforming since you just have to walk across them, pretty creative since I’ve never seen it before in HL2. I also like that you can bring Little Rocket Man with you to the exit and it will say “Thank you for taking care of the gnome” at the end. I don’t know if it still does this if you don’t have him since I did take him the entire way. I would certainly recommend this map.

 

Download it at PlanetPhillip

